Communication 2

“Good morning, my name is Phil, and I’m the chaplain here at the hospital. I came by to let you know we are available, and to see if there is anything I can do for you. Is there anything I can help you with while I’m here?

In our last post, we talked about the needs everyone has when we approach them, either in person, by phone, or any other means. This simple greeting (adjusted to you and your circumstances) meets all those needs. Those needs include, who you are, where do you get your authority (reason) for talking to me, and the question, “What’s in it for me?” If we practiced this greeting in all our dealings with each other, it would help to alleviate the mistrust we find nearly everywhere in our country.

Rather than have to work to de-escalate a situation after things have become tense, we could prevent the escalation in the first place. This also begins our interactions by treating others with the dignity and respect we all need. Take the time to think about it and put it into practice.

Leave a Reply

