Trusting the Routine

There are many things we cannot control (though we would really like to) and those are the things that tend to occupy our thoughts. How can we fix the national debt? How can we convince our school teachers to continue to teach cursive writing? Why won’t those parents keep their kids in line at Walmart?

When I arrive at work every day, I love the routine. I have a plan for the day, and at times that plan goes much like I expected. Other times, it doesn’t. Who plans for a heart attack (though if we pay attention, we know it is inevitable) or that an accident on the interstate that sends the emergency department into controlled chaos? Who knows that the staff member you see every day has a marriage falling apart and really needs to talk about it now?

Though some would like to change everything all at once, there is something to be said for the slow, inevitable change that takes place because the world changes. Our routines are the ways we operate best. I don’t find them boring; I find them comforting. It is the only thing I can predict and among the few things I can control. I’m not a control freak, but I do cherish getting my day started at my pace instead of being with someone having the worst day of their life. I can do the latter, but I prefer the former.

I do hope my preference for routine is not an age-related syndrome that means I’ll just one day wind down to a total stop. I may, but I also want a challenge, except I want it on my schedule. I need the routines to help me get ready for the next crisis.

Leave a Reply

